The National Sand Drag Association (NSDA) heads to San Jacinto, CA for its point series season finale for 2007. Point series titles have already been clinched in some classes, however many are still up for grabs including Top Fuel. Let’s take a look at where the contenders stand heading into the final race in each class.

Top Fuel 

Top Fuel looked to be a run away early in the season with Scott Whipple jumping out to a sizable advantage. The second half of the season has seen Dennis Rieck reel him in with back-to-back victories combined with bad luck for Whipple. Their current point totals look deceiving with Whipple sitting third behind second place Charlie Brown Jr., who does not have a mathematical shot at the title. Whipple can still improve on his 20-point race at Primm which is the lowest of his five race total. Things are much simpler in terms of winning the title for Rieck as he must finish one round ahead of Whipple, unless Whipple loses in round one. On the other hand, there are a lot of scenarios in which Whipple can pass Rieck. There is no doubt that the other Top Fuel racers will have a hand in deciding the title as evidenced by the close field in Primm.

Dennis Rieck currently leads the Top Fuel points.

Scott Whipple still has a chance at passing Rieck for the championship at the season finale.

Top Alcohol

Shane Sanford’s three wins throughout the season have nearly clinched the Top Alcohol class championship for him heading into the final race. Sanford can clinch the title by qualifying #1 or 2, or with Gary Mink not qualifying #1. Mink’s title hopes are simple as he must qualifying #1 and win the race with Sanford qualifying no higher than #3 and losing in round one. 

Shane Sanford leads the Top Alcohol points heading into the final race of the season.

Gary Mink still has a slim chance of passing Sanford for the title.

Top Eliminator

Top Eliminator has the tightest point battle in the NSDA with one race to go. Jeff Mamer currently leads DL King by one point. Jeff currently has the upper hand as he can improve on a first round loss while DL needs to improve on a second round finish. This point battle could very easily go down to the final round. DL King must go at least to the semi-final round and go one round further than Mamer. Tim Martin has locked third place in points while positions 4-9 are all still up for grabs.

Jeff Mamer has a slim point lead in TE with one race left. 

D.L. King still has a shot at taking the TE class championship from Mamer at the final race.

Pro 1 

Geoff Gill and Lori Ketron look to have the best shots at the Pro 1 point series title. Geoff currently leads Lori by 19 points, however Lori has the upper hand in that she can start gaining points with a first round win while Gill must go to the semi-final round to advance his total. George Amos and Steve DeNunzio both still have mathematical shots at the title if they qualify number one and win the class.

Geoff Gill is the current Pro 1 point leader.

Lori Ketron has the best shot of passing Gill for the class title.

Steve DeNunzio still has a chance at passing both Gill and Ketron.

Pro 2

The Pro 2 class is down to two racers with a chance for the title between David Cox and Steve Anthony. Cox currently sits on 34 point lead. Anthony must at least runner-up to have any chance at catching Cox for the title.

David Cox leads Pro 2 into the final point series race of the season.

Steve Anthony can still pass Cox for the Pro 2 championship.

Pro 3 

Grant Fraysier has locked up the Pro 3 class championship with his “Hummbler” Hummer. The battle for second place should be interesting with Joe Simeone, Arend Schouten, Mark Eckart, April Elliott, and Jose Beas all still having a shot at it.

Grant Fraysier - 2007 NSDA Pro 3 Point Series Champion 

MC Pro 1 

Ian Brown is the MC Pro 1 point series champion for 2007. Second place is still up for grabs between Ryan Winkle, Curt Brown, and Frank Prock.

Ian Brown - 2007 NSDA MC Pro 1 and MC Sportsman 1 Point Series Champion 

MC Pro 2 

Randy Mings is in the driver’s seat for the MC Pro 2 title. George Amos is the only other race with a chance, and he must win the race plus qualifying #4 or higher. Amos must have Mings lose before the semi-final round to bypass him in the points.

Randy Mings is in good shape to win the MC Pro 2 championship and has already clinched the MC Sportsman 2 title.

George Amos is still in MC Pro 2 title contention.

Pro Mod

Geoff Gill has clinched the Pro Mod point title over second place Larry Minor. Geoff’s four wins dominated the class during the 2007 season. 

Pro Index 

Justin Adamson is the 2007 Pro Index point series champion. Second place could be a tight battle as Mike Erwin holds the spot with Jose Beas and Wes Gilmore both having a shot at bypassing him for the spot.

Justin Adamson - 2007 NSDA Pro Index Point Series Champion

Sportsman 1

Sportsman 1 has the most wide open point battle still open throughout the NSDA. Billy Morris controls his own destiny as he currently holds a 42 point lead over Carl Jennings. Billy can clinch the title with a quarter-final round finish. Carl Jennings, David Cox, Todd Kinney, and Larry Brown all have mathematical chances at the title, but they must win the class to have a chance at passing Morris.

Billy Morris is the Sportsman 1 point leader with one race remaining.

Carl Jennings still has a shot at the Sportsman 1 championship.

Sportsman 2 

Carl Jennings dominated the Sportsman 2 category with 2 wins and a 139 point lead currently that can not be surpassed. The battle for 2-5 is wide open in Sport 2. 

Carl Jennings - 2007 NSDA Sportsman 2 Point Series Champion

MC Sportsman 1

Ian Brown is the 2007 MC Sportsman 1 point series champion. Ian clinched the title with a two win and one runner-up season. The battle for second through fifth is still very tight heading into the final race. 

MC Sportsman 2 

Randy Mings has locked up the MC Sport 2 point series win with two wins and a runner-up on the season. This is another class that could shift around positions two through five at the final race.

All photos are available for purchase from C3 Productions -

National Sand Drag News © 2018 | TB Web Development