Presented By:

nsdalogo.jpg hm2db.jpg


The 2010 NSDA Walt’s RV Summer Nationals came to an exciting conclusion on Sunday. Scott Whipple extended his win streak with another Top Fuel class win. Gary Mink laid down some impressive numbers to take back-to-back Top Alcohol class titles. Billy Morris continued his sweep of the Super Eliminator class in 2010 with another victory. Super Eliminator was all Brian Chapman as he defeated Aaron Mamer in the final round. Charlie Johnson scored a rare feat by winning both the Pro 2 and Pro 3 classes on the afternoon. Other bracket class winners on the day were Keith Ahart (Pro 1), Brooks Ryan (Motorcycle Pro 1), and Garrett Ratliff (Motorcycle Pro 2).

Top Fuel

Final Round (Driver ET RT)
Scott Whipple (W) NT .099 def. Dennis Rieck NT .099

Top Fuel Highlight Video

Top Alcohol

Round One Eliminations (Driver ET RT)
Scott Carroll (W) 2.693/132.41 .054 def. Dan Allen 2.575/139.18 .187
Gary Mink (W) 2.459/136.42 .166 def. Jim Hammond 2.796/118.52 .106

Final Round
Gary Mink (W) 2.461/134.71 .099 def. Scott Carroll NT-DNS

Top Alcohol Highlight Video

Super Eliminator

Round One Eliminations
Jim Rossi (W) 2.878 .132 Bye
Ashley Sanford (W) 2.905 .413 def. Art Cronin 2.935 .396
Billy Morris (W) 2.899 .154 def. Sidney Payne NT-Broke
Pedro Villa (W) 2.869 .100 def. Paul Taylor 2.879 .255

Round Two Eliminations
Jim Rossi (W) 2.901 .165 def. Ashley Sanford 3.149 .000
Billy Morris (W) 2.851 .117 def. Pedro Villa NT-DNS

Final Round
Billy Morris (W) 2.843 .070 def. Jim Rossi 2.874 .156

Super Eliminator Highlight Video

Top Eliminator

Round One Eliminations
Aaron Mamer 3.113 .026 def. Glen Hickey 3.285 .058
Paul Graham 2.998 .067 def. Jim DePasse 3.339 -.097
Brian Chapman 3.053 .131 def. Larry Snow 3.080 .108
Don Diffenbaugh 3.101 .041 def. Steve Hoffman 3.070 .081
Daniel King 2.952 .065 def. Mark Punos 3.193 -.043

Round Two Eliminations
Aaron Mamer (W) 3.097 .057 Legal Single
Brian Chapman (W) 3.131 .048 def. Paul Graham 3.263 .037
Daniel King (W) 3.271 .415 def. Don Diffenbaugh NT-DNS

Round Three Eliminations
Aaron Mamer (W) 3.015 .172 Bye
Brian Chapman (W) 3.044 .126 def. Daniel King 3.005 .209

Final Round
Brian Chapman (W) 2.976 .106 def. Aaron Mamer 3.051 .120

Top Eliminator Highlight Video

Pro 1
1st-Keith Ahart
2nd-Mike Kelly
3rd-Trevor Scherrer
Results Sheet

Pro 2
1st-Charlie Johnson
2nd-Tony DeNunzio
3rd-David Cox
3rd-Jim Williams
Results Sheet

Pro 3
1st-Charlie Johnson
2nd-Luz Malan
3rd-Arend Schouten
Results Sheet

Motorcycle Pro 1
1st-Brooks Ryan
2nd-Bob Sechi
3rd-AJ Eid
Results Sheet 1
Results Sheet 2

Motorcycle Pro 2
1st-Garrett Ratliff
2nd-Mark Ratliff
3rd-Trisha Kinney
3rd-Joey Weaver
Results Sheet


The NSDA Walt’s RV Summer Nationals at Lake Elsinore Motorsports Complex kicked into high gear with some spectacular action on day two. Scott Whipple furthered his strangle hold on the Top Fuel class, lowering his #1 qualifying time with a great 2.232/166.05mph. That MPH with a back up from his Friday night pass is good enough to take the TF World MPH record back. Dan Allen held off a great effort from Gary Mink to hang on to the #1 spot heading into race day. Gary ran a great 2.426, just missing Dan’s Friday night 2.417. In Super Eliminator, Jim Rossi made a splash in the final qualifying session, stealing away the #1 spot from Billy Morris by .001, with a 2.807. Aaron Mamer scored his first ever TE #1 qualifier spot, running a 2.998. Winners on the day include Geoff Gill (Pro Mod), Wes Johnson (Pro Outlaw), Jeff Goorsky (Sportsman Car), Rob Winkle (Motorcycle Sportsman), Austin Ratliff (Junior Dragster), and Todd Kinney (Pro Gambler). Charlie Johnson stole the show in the Wheelie Contest, putting his Mopar-powered Jeep on the back bumper once again.

Top Fuel

Final Qualifying Order
1. Scott Whipple 2.232/166.05
2. Dennis Rieck 2.395/140.95

Saturday TF Highlight Video

Top Alcohol
Final Qualifying Order
1. Dan Allen 2.417/144.78
2. Gary Mink 2.426/135.39
3. Jim Hammond 2.601/125.52
4. Scott Carroll 2.658/135.91

Saturday TA Highlight Video

Super Eliminator
Final Qualifying Order
1. Jim Rossi 2.807
2. Billy Morris 2.808
3. Paul Taylor 2.811
4. Art Cronin 2.815
5. Ashley Sanford 2.845
6. Pedro Villa 2.907
7. Sidney Payne 2.984

Saturday SE Highlight Video

Top Eliminator
Final Qualifying Order
1. Aaron Mamer 2.989
2. Paul Graham 3.002
3. Steve Hoffman 3.018
4. Daniel King 3.022
5. Larry Snow 3.086
6. Randy Berkfield 3.159
7. John Cronin 3.168
8. Brian Chapman 3.168
9. Mark Punos 3.222
10. Don Diffenbaugh 3.228
11. Jim DePasse 3.449
12. Glen Hickey 3.922

Saturday TE Highlight Video

Pro Mod
1st-Geoff Gill
2nd-Jim DePasse
3rd-Clayton Record
Results Sheet

Pro Outlaw
1st-Wes Johnson
2nd-Howard Sato
3rd-Tracy Malan
3rd-Trevor Scherrer
Results Sheet

Sportsman Car
1st-Jeff Goorsky
2nd-Steve Perkio
3rd-Rocky Hensley
3rd-Fred Russo
Results Sheet

Motorcycle Sportsman
1st-Rob Winkle
2nd-Brooks Ryan
3rd-Joey Weaver
3rd-AJ Eid
Results Sheet 1

Results Sheet 2

Junior Dragster
1st-Austin Ratliff
2nd-Michael Wright
3rd-Aimee Mamer
3rd-Brandon Partida
Results Sheet

Pro Gambler
1st-Todd Kinney
2nd-Mike Kelly
3rd-Steve DeNunzio
3rd-Greg Johnson
Results Sheet

Bonus Footage
Charlie Johnson Wheelie Contest Winner


The NSDA Walt’s RV Summer Nationals kicked off on a high note with great qualifying action in all classes. Scott Whipple once again stole the show in Top Fuel, knocking on the door of his World Record set at the previous event, running a 2.235/164mph. Dan Allen was also knocking on the door of a World Record, setting a blistering pace with a 2.417/144mph blast. The Super Eliminator class is once again led by Bill Morris, running a nearly perfect 2.808. Smooth Sucka Steve Hoffman leads the pack in TE with a stellar 3.018. Winners in today’s bracket action were Greg Johnson (Pro Bonus), Wes Johnson (Pro Gambler), and Bo Crossland (Motorcycle Gambler).

Top Fuel

Qualifying Order (After 2 Sessions)
1. Scott Whipple 2.235/164.03
2. Dennis Rieck 3.408/52.85

Friday TF Highlight Video

Top Alcohol
Qualifying Order (After 2 Sessions)
1. Dan Allen 2.417/144.58
2. Scott Carroll 2.669/135.73
3. Jim Hammond 2.720/120.90

Friday TA Highlight Video

Super Eliminator
Qualifying Order (After 2 Sessions)
1. Billy Morris 2.808
2. Paul Taylor 2.811
3. Sidney Payne 2.984
4. Art Cronin 3.167
5. Ashley Sanford NT

Friday SE Highlight Video

Top Eliminator
Qualifying Order (After 2 Sessions)
1. Steve Hoffman 3.018
2. Daniel King 3.070
3. Larry Snow 3.086
4. Paul Graham 3.096
5. John Cronin 3.168
6. Mark Punos 3.222
7. Don Diffenbaugh 3.277
8. Jim DePasse 3.449
9. Glen Hickey 5.908
10. Brian Chapman NT

Friday TE Highlight Video

Pro Gambler 1
1st-Greg Johnson
2nd-Charlie Johnson
Eliminations Sheet Page 1

Pro Gambler 2
1st-Wes Johnson
2nd-David Cox
Eliminations Sheet Page 1

Motorcycle Gambler
1st-Bo Crossland
2nd-Mark Ratliff
Eliminations Sheet Page 1

National Sand Drag News is heading to the 2010 NSDA Walt’s RV Summer Nationals on May 14-16 at the Lake Elsinore Motorsports Complex in Lake Elsinore, CA. NSDN will have our typical Daily Race Coverage from this event with results, news, and videos each night after racing action is complete. Also, keep an eye on the “Race Updates” live update side bar on the left side of the main page for updates from the event as it happens. If you sign up for Twitter, you can view all of the updates and sign up to have the updates sent to your mobile device. This NSDN Daily Race Coverage is brought to you by National Sand Drag Association and Heavy Metal/2 Dolla’ Bill Racing. Racing action kicks off on Friday, May 14 with early round qualifying for the heads-up categories and Gambler class action for the bracket racers. For any questions throughout the race weekend or to inquire about future Daily Race Coverage sponsorship opportunities, e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

National Sand Drag News © 2018 | TB Web Development