The final day of action at the Primm Valley Resorts NSDA event produced some excellent racing. This was another awesome event put on by the NSDA crew. Keep an eye on NSDN for more on this event in the coming days. Final round video posted 4/22.

*Click Read More to view results*

Sunday Final Round Video ( )

Top Fuel

The Top Fuel class was won for the second time in '07 NSDA action by Scott Whipple and the Canidae dragster. Scott defeated Dennis Rieck in the final round 2.43-2.62.

Round One
Scott Whipple (W) 2.385 @ 162.85 def. Jeff Janoe DNR
Dennis Rieck (W) 2.458 def. Michael Peasley 2.879
Terri Blair (W) 2.605 def. Mark Sanders 2.632
Chris Barlow (W) 2.515 def. Charlie Brown 2.550

Round Two
Scott Whipple (W) 2.469 def. Chris Barlow 2.597
Dennis Rieck (W) 2.577 def. Terri Blair 2.578

Final Round
Scott Whipple (W) 2.435 def. Dennis Rieck 2.620

Top Alcohol

Mike DeNunzio made it a Canidae sweep by taking home the win in Top Alcohol. DeNunzio ran a 2.74 to defeat Gary Mink who redlighted away a 2.691.

Round One
Nick Januik (W) 2.727 def. Richard Montiel 2.588
Shane Sanford (W) 2.600 def. Carey Mahoney 2.849
Mike DeNunzio (W) 2.572 def. Shane Switzer DNS
Gary Mink (W) 2.619 def. Dan Allen NT RL

Round Two
Mike DeNunzio (W) 2.627 def. Shane Sanford 2.696
Gary Mink (W) 2.650 def. Nick Januik 2.717

Final Round
Mike DeNunzio (W) 2.740 def. Gary Mink 2.691 RL

Top Eliminator

Peter Schenk took home the trophy in the TE class. Schenk ran a consistent string of low 3.0's topped off with a 2.998 in the final round to defeat John Keller.

Round Two
Mark Punos (W) 3.334 def. Jeff Mamer 3.244
John Keller (W) 3.486 def. Terry Crawford 4.931
Peter Schenk (W) 3.084 def. Tim Martin 2.972 RL
DL King (W) 3.021 def. Steve Hoffman 3.011

Round Three
John Keller (W) 3.053 def. Mark Punos 3.405
Peter Schenk (W) 3.029 def. DL King 3.457

Final Round
Peter Schenk (W) 2.998 def. John Keller 3.197

Pro 1
1st-Tom Satuer
2nd-Lori Ketron
3rd-Geoff Gill

Pro 2
1st-David Cox
2nd-Jim Smith
3rd-Bruce Wood
3rd-Elizabeth Buettner

Pro 3
1st-Mark Eckart
2nd-Grant Fraysier
3rd-Linette Buettner
3rd-Joe Simeone

Motorcycle Pro 1
1st-Rob Winkle
2nd-Ian Brown
3rd-Ryan Winkle

Motorcycle Pro 2
1st-Randy Mings
2nd-George Amos
3rd-Ron Cox


Primm Saturday Highlight Video ( )

Top Fuel

Scott Whipple remained at the top of the Top Fuel qualifying list with his Friday night 2.345. The TF order stayed the same despite a few racers having marginal improvements. Chris Barlow's entry had low ET of the first Saturday session with a 2.493 followed closely by Dennis Rieck's 2.510. The night session was led by #1 qualifier Whipple with a 2.487 @ 159.53 MPH which backs up his 159.65 from Friday night's session for a TF MPH world record.

Qualifying Order
1. Scott Whipple 2.345
2. Terri Blair 2.481
3. Dennis Rieck 2.482
4. Chris Barlow 2.493
5. Charlie Brown 2.518
6. Michael Peasley 2.610
7. Mark Sanders 2.652
8. Jeff Janoe 8.533

Top Alcohol

Richard Montiel kept Top Dog at the top of the qualifying list with a great 2.500 in the Saturday night qualifying session. Shane Sanford ran great 2.542 and 2.546 passes putting him in second spot heading to Sunday. Mike DeNunzio and Gary Mink both cracked the 2.5 zone which puts them third and fourth respecitvely.

Qualifying Order
1. Richard Montiel 2.500 142
2. Shane Sanford 2.542 137
3. Mike DeNunzio 2.588 138
4. Gary Mink 2.591 128
5. Dan Allen 2.665 143
6. Shane Switzer 2.672 134
7. Carey Mahoney 2.798 112
8. Nick Januik 2.811 125
Did Not Qualify
9. Jim Hammond 2.881 116

Top Eliminator

Round One
Terry Crawford (W) 2.966 def. Jim Williams 3.033
Steve Hoffman (W) 3.121 def. Taylor Brewer 3.500 RL
Pete Schenk (W) 3.029 def. Lori Ketron 3.461
Mark Punos (W) 3.301 def. Darrell Cypert 3.128
Jeff Mamer (W) NT Bye
Tim Martin (W) 2.897 Bye
DL King (W) 3.006 Bye
John Keller (W) 3.115 Bye

Sportsman 1
1st-David Cox
2nd-Billy Morris
3rd-Todd Kinney

Sportsman 2
1st-Carl Jennings
2nd-Charles Thompson
3rd-Reed Taylor

Motorcycle Sportsman 1
1st-Frank Prock
2nd-Ron Garnas
3rd-Mark Doty

Motorcycle Sportsman 2
1st-Rob Winkle
2nd-Scott Hensley
3rd-Pedro Villa Jr.

Pro Index
1st-Mike Erwin
2nd-Wes Johnson
3rd-Justin Adamson
3rd-Dave Stidham

Pro Mod
1st-Geoff Gill
2nd-Jorge Covarrubias


Day 1 of the NSDA Primm Valley Resorts event is in the books. Cold weather and wind didn't hurt the competition as the Pro bracket classes were contested as well as the first two rounds to TF/TA/TE qualifying.

Primm Friday Highlight Video ( )

Top Fuel

Scott Whipple has the potential to reset his TF world records after recording a 2.345 E.T. at 159.65 MPH in the second qualifying session. Scott has the opportunity to back up the record over the course of this weekend. The 2.345 for Whipple put him #1 after two sessions followed by Terri Blair (2.481), Dennis Rieck (2.482), and Chris Barlow (2.510) in the top half of the field.

Qualifying Order
1. Scott Whipple 2.345 159
2. Terri Blair 2.481 137
3. Dennis Rieck 2.482 114
4. Chris Barlow 2.510 148
5. Charlie Brown 2.563 143
6. Michael Peasley 2.621 133
7. Mark Sanders 2.652 127
8. Jeff Janoe NT

Top Alcohol

Richard Montiel put the "Top Dog" car in the top spot after two qualifying sessions. Montiel laid down a 2.618 @ 142 MPH. Gary Mink ended up second with a 2.717 with the top half of the field filled by Dan Allen's 2.734 and Carey Mahoney's 2.798.

Qualifying Order
1. Richard Montiel 2.618 142
2. Gary Mink 2.717 131
3. Dan Allen 2.734 141
4. Carey Mahoney 2.798 112
5. Mike DeNunzio 2.809 128
6. Nick Januik 2.811 125
7. Jim Hammond 2.881 116
8. Shane Switzer 2.925 117

Top Eliminator

Jeff Mamer was nearly perfect in the Sidewinder, just missing the magic 2.950 mark by .004 in qualifying. Jeff was closely followed by Tim Martin, DL King, and John Keller. Rick Morris provided the scare of the day in TE qualifying when a broken axle sent him across the track just past the starting line and after a riding the wall for a short distance he was able to keep the car right side up. Rick was fine after the incident, but the broken axle will put him out for the weekend. 

Qualifying Order
1. Jeff Mamer 2.954
2. Tim Martin 3.017
3. DL King 3.094
4. John Keller 3.096
5. Jim Williams 3.109
6. Steve Hoffman 3.169
7. Pete Schenk 3.22
8. Darrell Cypert 3.238
9. Mark Punos 3.342
10. Lori Ketron 3.418
11. Terry Crawford 5.475
12. Taylor Brewer NT
13. Rick Morris NT

Pro 1
1st-Bill Swim
2nd-Billy Morris
3rd-Geoff Gill

Pro 2
1st-Mike Bolton
2nd-Wes Johnson
3rd-David Cox
3rd-Dave Stidham

Pro 3
1st-Joe Simeone
2nd-Jerry Peripoli
3rd-Reed Taylor
3rd-Mark Eckart

MC Pro 1
1st-Ian Brown
2nd-Ron Garnas
3rd-Christy Garnas
3rd-Rudy Kurtz

MC Pro 2
1st-Ron Cox
2nd-George Amos
3rd-Rob Winkle
3rd-Cody Rhoades


Welcome to NSDN's exclusive daily race coverage from the Primm Valley Resorts NSDA point series event. The NSDA was hard at work Thursday putting the finishing touches on another first class race track. Racers rolled in all day from areas across the west coast. Already in the pits just in the Top Fuel class are points leader Scott Whipple, 2nd place in points Dennis Rieck, Charlie Brown, Jeff Janoe, Terri Blair, and Chris Barlow...and it's only Thursday. All in all it's shaping up to be a great event in Primm. Stay tuned all weekend to NSDN for updates.

*All photos copyright National Sand Drag News*


National Sand Drag News will be bringing you daily race coverage this weekend presented by the National Sand Drag Assocation & Heavy Metal Racing/Chittenden Motorsports from NSDA's inaugural Primm, NV event. Racing action starts on Friday with the first day of Pro bracket racing and opening of TF/TA/TE qualifying. Check back each evening for results, news, and video from the event.

National Sand Drag News © 2018 | TB Web Development