lead.jpgNSDN marked a first as we headed to Holland, MI for West Michigan Dirt Drags Inaugural event at the Ottawa County Fairgrounds. This is the first event NSDN has covered that was not the traditional 300’ sand drag track. WMDD ran this event over a unique 150’ course in front of the Grandstand at the fair. With this event happening during Saturday night of the Fair, a great spectator turnout showed up to watch as many of MI’s best sand drag racers raced in this unique format.


Pro Outlaw

This category ran a vastly different format that what we are used to in PTN competition. Pro Outlaw allowed ANY vehicle under 150” wheelbase to enter. This was also a timed package racing class with the best combination of ET + RT over two passes taking the win. On this night, local Mud racer Todd James in the California Shaker rear-engine 4WD Dragster ran a 2.219 (2.021ET + .198RT) for the victory. Steve DeLeeuw finished second in his Bodacious Blown BBC-powered Altered with a 2.224 (2.028ET + .196RT). Rounding out the top 5 were Trent Everett Jr. (2.385), Mike Page (2.420), and Dave Kramer (2.442). James’ 2.021 was the quickest ET recorded over the course of the event, while DeLeeuw carded a 90.18MPH blast during Test and Tune for Top Speed of the event.

Todd James

Steve DeLeeuw

Trent Everett Jr.

Pro Modified

The Pro Modified class was very similar to the PTN Pro Truck category with the only exceptions being no Max ET dial-in for the 150’ surface as well as the class being a dial to the hundredth instead of to the tenth of a second. Many of the best Pro Truck races in MI showed up to compete for the $1000 cash prize.

25 entries showed up to compete in this class with some excellent competition in the opening rounds. Round three kicked off with Dave Stinson’s Outlaw Jeep matching up with the Bad Company Blown SBC-powered Jeep of Ben Dozeman. Dozeman would push the tree hard and go red by .012 handing the win to Stinson, who ran a 2.780 (2.79). The next pair would see 2011 PTN Pro Truck series champion Lee Reynders face off with Neal Swain in a pair of SBC-powered Jeeps. Reynders would miss the tree and go red by .029 handing the win to Swain. Up next would be 2010 PTN Pro Truck series champion Dave Kramer in the Super Toy Jeep against Brent Lokker. Lokker would leave first .061 to .111, but would break out with a 2.648 (2.67) to hand the win to Kramer. Brian Wagner would move on to the semi-final round with a bye run.

Wagner’s luck would run out starting off the semi-final round as he would stage too deep & turn on the red bulb advancing Stinson to the final round with another 2.780 (2.79). The next pair would see Kramer and Swain put them in the beams with Swain drilling the tree carding a great .004RT and forcing Kramer into a 2.389 (2.43) break out. This set up a final round between two black SBC-powered Jeeps and this race would be decided at the tree Swain would go red by .003 handing the win to Stinson, who had a solid .047RT and 2.814 (2.77).

Dave Stinson

Neal Swain

Dave Kramer

Brian Wagner

Other Classes

Dylan Beld emerged victorious in a tough heads up Pro ATV class edging out SHOCKER Racing’s Matt Ewing & Steve Ewing. Dave Kurtz made the haul from Ohio pay off with a big win in the Super Modified class. Kurtz in his “The Gambler” S-10 defeated Pro Modified runner-up Neal Swain in the final round 2.484 to 2.699. Mike Moll was the big winner in the Super Street category defeating an amazing perfect RT by Ryan Smith in a 3.357 to 3.549 decision. The Moll family continued their winning ways as Emily would match her dad’s winner performance taking the Junior class over Hunter Glockzin. Megan Wittingen did a great job taking the Youth category over Nathan Vereeke.

Dylan Beld

Dave Kurtz

Mike Moll

Photos Courtesy - Lonestar Graphics.

National Sand Drag News © 2018 | TB Web Development