The 2014 PTN series finished up the Season with a thriller at Little Sandy Raceway in Grayson, KY. Jim & Gaye Johnson’s beautiful Kentucky track played host to a spectacular weekend of racing. Racers from across the Midwest as far away as Missouri, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina made the haul to the great state of Kentucky. After some damp weather on Thursday, the skies cleared producing great racing air and track conditions for Friday and Saturday. Here’s the rundown of all the action at PTN Championship Weekend 2014.

PTN Classes

The PTN series crowned a first time champ as Ohio’s Blake Cole swept the weekend as he won both Friday night’s Pro Shootout & Saturday’s Pro Truck class earning him the 2014 PTN Pro Truck Championship. Indiana’s Jeff Banks in the “Speed Buggy” finished 2nd in Pro Truck points while 2012 Pro Truck Champ Kyle Harney scored 3rd place. An exciting battle in the PTN Proformance Prototypes 3.95 Index Pro ATV class concluded with Pennsylvania’s Jason Thompson in the Winner’s Circle as both the Event Winner & 2014 Series Champion. Jason held off a highly competitive field at Little Sandy, where he defeated Kentucky’s Gary Butler in the final round. The PTN Pro Outlaw class was contested to 200’ at this race and put on an incredible show for the Kentucky fans. Kathy Ellington in the MKE Motorsports Black Widow recorded the win with a sizzling 2.62 to defeat Ryan Wilson’s solid 2.70. Friday night’s 3.5 Index final round saw an all Steele Wilson Connection Racing final round as Ben Steele drove the all conquering Blue Altered to the victory over Ryan Wilson in a tight 3.57 to 3.59 decision. In the Ironman final round, the ATV prevailed as Eddie Epling turned on the win light over Kris Johnson’s Jeep to score the 6’ tall Ironman trophy.

Blake Cole - Pro Truck & Pro Shootout Class Winner and 2014 PTN Pro Truck Champion (Lonestar Photo)

Jeff Banks - Pro Truck Runner-Up & 2nd Place in 2014 PTN Pro Truck Points (Lonestar Photo)

Kyle Harney - Pro Shootout Runner-Up & 3rd Place in 2014 PTN Pro Truck Points (NSDN Photo)

Jason Thompson - PTN 3.95 Index Pro ATV Winner & Series Champion (NSDN Photo)

Kathy Ellington - PTN Pro Outlaw Winner (NSDN Photo)

Ben Steele - PTN 3.5 Index Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Eddie Epling - PTN Ironman Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Kris Johnson - PTN Ironman Runner-Up (Lonestar Photo)

PSDA Classes
In PSDA action at Little Sandy, Missouri’s Madd Draggin’ Racing was once again a force in the PSDA Heads-Up categories. Team MDR rider Trey Williams won the Twin-Cylinder 650+ Limited & Twin-Cylinder Open Unlimited categories on the team’s #83 machine recording a Best ET on the weekend of 3.62. The Rigger Racing team kept up its winning ways in the 2014 PTN season as Terrell Allen piloted Ricky Thorpe’s “Pumpkin’ Pro ATV to the Winner’s Circle of the PSDA Twin-Cylinder 0-650 Limited class running a Best ET on the weekend of 3.65. West Virginia’s Joey Cisco pulled off quite a win in the PSDA Three-Cylinder Open Limited class. Cisco qualified #5 out of 5 entries with a 3.53, not far off of #1 Qualifier Steph Bennett’s 3.47. But in Eliminations, things would fall Cisco’s way and he would emerge the class champion recording a 3.52/89MPH in the final round.

Trey Williams - PSDA Twin-Cylinder 650+ Limited & Open Unlimited Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Terrell Allen - PSDA Twin-Cylinder 0-650 Limited Winner (NSDN Photo)

Joey Cisco - PSDA Three-Cylinder Open Limited Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Bracket Classes

Other class winners from this event include Rodney Upchurch (Pro Cars), Chris Followay (Pro ATV), Tex Andy English (Open ATV), Bryson Turner (Juniors) Drew Epling (Peewees), and last but not least Matt Randolph (Sportsman Car). Randolph scored his third straight Sportsman Car class win at PTN Little Sandy Raceway events. This event was a great cap to the 2014 PTN series. NSDN would like to thank Buddy & Kiristin Hammett of Midwest Coatings for sponsoring the coverage of their series this year.

Rodney Upchurch - Pro Cars Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Chris Followay - Pro ATV Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Tex Andy English - Open ATV Winner (NSDN Photo)

Matt Randolph - Sportsman Car Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Bryson Turner - Juniors Winner (Lonestar Photo)

Photos Courtesy
Lonestar Graphics

Event Photo Gallery (Courtesy Lonestar Graphics) Full Friday & Saturday Galleries

Event Photo Gallery (Courtesy NSDN)

National Sand Drag News © 2018 | TB Web Development