2011 July


Presented By:

 WMDDLogo.jpg ptnlogo.jpg


The Inaugural West Michigan Dirt Drags event at the Ottawa County Fairgrounds saw some great racing action on Saturday. Todd James in the California Shake Blown Mud Dragster took a slim .005 Margin of Victory over Steve DeLeeuw in the Pro Outlaw category. Dave Stinson in the Outlaw stole some win lights to take the Pro Modified win over Neal Swain. Swain would also advance to the finals of Super Modified, but it would be Ohio’s David Kurtz taking the win. Dylan Beld won the Pro ATV showdown over Shocker Racing while Mike Moll turned on the win light in the Super Street final. Emily Moll (Juniors) and Megan Wittingen (Youth) both did great jobs taking wins in their respective classes. *Video & Run Sheets are now online (7-31).*

lead.jpgThe Pro Truck Nationals (PTN) series concluded their 2011 point series season with the Annual July trip to West Michigan Sand Dragway in Mears, MI. Great weather conditions led to some amazing racing action as the point series titles were determined and big money was paid out to all the winners. Our friends at Lonestar Graphics made the long haul from Texas & captured some amazing images as we have grown accustomed to. You can view their full selection of photos as well as order merchandise at www.LoneStarGraphics.com.


Presented By:



The 2011 Pro Truck Nationals series concluded with a great event at West Michigan Sand Dragway in Mears, MI. Lee Reynders is the 2011 PTN Pro Truck class champion with his semi-final finish on the night. Eric Gallay made the haul from Illinois pay off by taking his first PTN Pro Truck class victory defeating Neal Swain in the final round. The 2011 PTN Pro Outlaw FE class champion is Kathy Ellington as she advanced to the semi-finals at the Season Finale. Brian McWethy ran a pair of 3.09’s in eliminations to end up as the Pro Outlaw FE class winner on the night defeating Jay Poortenga in the final round. Matt Ewing won the Quick 8 Pro ATV class as well as the class champion on the night. Other big winners include Matt Peel (Quick 16), Jim Brantley (Pro 1 Cars), Matt Ewing (Pro ATV), Neal Swain (Sportsman Car), Chloe Simon (ATV), Caitlynn Page (Junior ATV), Garrett Curtis (Junior Dragster), and Havannah Wagner (Mighty Midgets). Run Sheets are now posted. Saturday Videos are now posted. (7/17)

cb.jpgNSDN sends our thoughts and prayers out to former Top Fuel World Record Holder Charlie Brown Jr. as he is recovering from a series of heart attacks recently. Charlie, the first man to break the 2.3 second barrier, is currently in recovery, and would greatly appreciate any well wishes from the sand drag racing community. We have set up an email address, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to send well wishes to and we will forward them on to Charlie. Hang in there, Charlie, and get better soon.
lead.jpgLittle Sandy Raceway in Grayson, KY played host to Race 2 of the 2011 Pro Truck Nationals (PTN) point series. This was PTN’s first trip to Kentucky, and it did not disappoint with great racing action from start to finish. Mother Nature was looking down on all that weekend as storm after storm skirted around the race track. Fortunately, only a few sprinkles made it to the track. Here is a recap of this great event.

domelead.jpgDome Valley Raceway, in conjunction with Swag Racing and The AZ Top Fuel Group, has announced the 3rd Annual AZ vs. CA Top Fuel Shootout will be held on February 3-5, 2012 at the Wellton, AZ track. This event will feature the normal selection of Dome Valley Raceway classes, highlighted by the third annual Top Fuel Shootout. This will also be the first point event for the 2012 NSRA point series. More details on this event will be released in the coming weeks, but be sure to mark your calendars for February 3-5, 2012 to experience this earth shattering weekend. For direct inquiries regarding the race or sponsorship opportunities; you can call Mike Erwin at 928-941-0335, Ernesto Juarez at 928-503-9675, Charlie Lowe at 602-573-5862, or e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

WMSD - Mears, MI - Saturday Race Results

Quick 16
1st-Jim Brantley
2nd-Trent Everett Jr.
3rd-Jim Bailey
3rd-Dave Kramer

Pro Truck
1st-Tom Hartman
2nd-Lee Reynders
3rd-Jim Brantley
3rd-Dave Kramer

Pro 1
1st-Lee Reynders
2nd-Bruce Hartung
3rd-Trent Everett
3rd-Brian Walla

National Sand Drag News © 2018 | TB Web Development